Helen PocockNewsLeave a Comment

Credit: Ashley Osborn 

The Platinum- Certified Smash Off His Record Breaking Country Debut Album ‘Whitsitt Chapel’ Tops The Aircheck and Billboard Country Charts Following Opening Weekend Of The Backroad Baptism Tour

The Backroad Baptism Arena Tour Continued Its 45-City Run Last Week

Entertainment phenomenon Jelly Roll earned his second consecutive #1 at US Country radio last week with his Platinum-selling single, ‘Need A Favor. The chart-topping hit, which also earned multiple weeks on top of the rock airplay charts, is the singer/songwriter’s follow up single to his first #1 at Country radio, ‘Son of A Sinner‘. The milestone comes on the heels of the Backroad Baptism US tour launch, which kicked off this week in Southhaven, MS (28/7) before heading to Atlanta, GA (29/7), Orange Beach, AL (30/7), Huntsville, AL (1/8) and Darien Center, NY (3/8). The 43-city headlining arena tour continued on Friday.

In an interview with Billboard, Jelly Roll shared, “A second #1 at Country radio is something I wouldn’t have even allowed myself to dream about. ‘Need A Favor’ has absolutely changed my life. It’s been incredible to watch the fan reaction and see what’s happening out there on the road. Thank you to everyone who has continued to believe in this song since the beginning and thank you to Country radio for supporting therapeutic music like ‘Need A Favor’ since day one. It’s amazing to have your support and I’ve seen first hand the impact the music continues to have with people across the country.”

Written by Jelly (Jason DeFord), Austin Nivarel, Joe Ragosta, and Rob Ragosta, ‘Need A Favor’ is one of 13 tracks on his debut Country album, Whitsitt Chapel. Released in June 2023, Whitsitt Chapel became the largest country debut album in Billboard Consumption chart history- earning the singer/songwriter another milestone after he topped Billboard’s Emerging Artists chart for more than 28 weeks – the longest reign for an artist in the chart’s existence. Jelly co-wrote all 13 tracks on the album, including his breakthrough viral single ‘Save Me’ — a confessional, vulnerable expression of self-doubt — which has earned Platinum certification from the RIAA. Born and raised in Nashville’s Antioch neighborhood, the former addict and drug dealer draws from his personal experiences to tell the story of a man who has been through the ringer and isn’t afraid to share his raw truth. The 3X CMT Award winning artist has had a history-making “breakthrough year” (American Songwriter), selling out the Ryman Auditorium as well as  his hometown arena of 18,000+ fans at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena, earning two #1s at Country radio and multi-week hits at Rock simultaneously, launching a 44-date arena Background Baptism Tour, and releasing an all-access documentary of his life at home and on the road, Jelly Roll: Save Me (Hulu).

Fore more on Jelly Roll, visit

Whitsitt Chapel 
Track Listing:

1. Halfway To Hell (Jason DeFord, Jesse Frasure, Matt Jenkins, Jessie Jo Dillon)*

2. Church (Jason DeFord, Michael Hardy, David Garcia)**

3. The Lost (Jason DeFord, Jesse Frasure, Miranda Lambert)*

4. Behind Bars (with Brantley Gilbert and Struggle Jennings) (Jason DeFord, Brantley Gilbert, Michael Whitworth, Andrew Baylis, Brock Berryhill, Austin Nivarel)***

5. Nail Me (Jason DeFord, Kevin Gruft, Austin Nivarel)^

6. Hold On Me (Jason DeFord, Hillary Lindsey, Alysa Vanderheym, Michael Whitworth)^

7. Kill A Man (Jason DeFord, Riley Thomas, Andrew Baylis, Michael Whitworth)^

8. Unlive (with Yelawolf) (Jason DeFord, Ashley McBryde, Andrew Baylis, Zach Crowell, Michael Wayne Atha)^

9. Save Me (with Lainey Wilson) (Jason DeFord, David Ray Stevens)^^

10. She (Jason DeFord, Austin Nivarel, Kevin “Thrasher” Gruft)^^^

11. Need A Favor (Jason DeFord, Austin Nivarel, Joe Ragosta, Rob Ragosta)*^

12. Dancing With The Devil (Jason DeFord, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell)^

13. Hungover In A Church Pew (Jason DeFord, Hunter Phelps, Zach Crowell)^

^Produced by Zach Crowell
*Produced by Zach Crowell and Jesse Frasure
**Produced by Zach Crowell and David Garcia
^^Produced by Zach Crowell and David Ray Stevens
*^Produced by Austin Nivarel
***Produced by Brock Berryhill and Andrew Baylis
^^^Produced by Kevin “Thrasher” Gruft

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *