Marty Stuart releases New Song “Sitting Alone” 
From First Album in 6 Years, Altitude, out May 19 on Snakefarm

Helen PocockNewsLeave a Comment

Headlining US Tour resumes March 24, before Stagecoach Festival performance April 29  
Touring Stateside with Chris Stapleton This Summer.

Today, the 5-time GRAMMY winner, Country Music Hall of Famer and AMA Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Marty Stuart releases new song “Sitting Alone” from his forthcoming album, Altitude, out on May 19 via Snakefarm.
Stuart is currently in the midst of a nationwide headlining US tour; he also performs at Stagecoach Festival on April 29, before hitting the road Stateside with Chris Stapleton this summer.

Stream/embed “Sitting Alone” via YouTube.

About the song, Stuart explains: “I wrote this song in Buffalo, NY, before the pandemic started. I was on a writing spree, and when the words appeared on the paper they didn’t quite make any sense to me, but I liked them. I instantly heard Kenny Vaughan playing a 12-string Rickenbacker part along with me playing a Clarence White guitar solo in the middle of the song along with Byrds-style harmonies. When the pandemic hit, I took another look at the words and thought, ‘This makes a lot more sense to me than it used to!’ It’s become a meaningful song now that I understand it on a deeper level, and I think we made a good record out of the song.”
Recently, Stuart released the album’s title track and single “Country Star”, which was covered by Rolling Stone and Billboard, who called it “a full-throttle blast of power from the first note”. 
The announcement of his first new album in more than 6 years finds Stuart on the heels of a string of professional and personal achievements in an already unprecedented career. Late last year, Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives were inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame, and he celebrated his 50th year in Nashville and 30th anniversary as a Grand Ole Opry member.
In December, Stuart and his wife Connie Smith kicked off the grand re-opening of the historic and recently renovated Ellis Theater in his hometown of Philadelphia, Mississippi, which Stuart has been working to re-open for seven years as part of his Congress of Country Music.
Recorded in Nashville with his long-time band The Fabulous Superlatives – Kenny VaughanHarry Stinson and Chris Scruggs – the new album finds Stuart picking up where he left off on 2017’s Way Out West, exploring a cosmic country landscape populated by dreamers and drifters, misfits and angels, honky-tonk heroes and lonesome lovers. Written primarily on the road, the collection was inspired in large part by Stuart’s 2018 tour supporting Byrds co-founders Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman, who reunited for the 50th anniversary of their seminal Sweetheart Of The Rodeo album. 
Marty Stuart’s Late Night Jam — an annual all-star after-hours show that marks the unofficial kick-off to CMA Fest week in Nashville — will celebrate its 20th anniversary on June 7 at the Ryman Auditorium. Last year, the event featured Billy Strings, Emmylou Harris and Marcus King, and has previously featured Brothers Osborne, Chris Stapleton, Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman, Margo Price, Maren Morris, Neko Case, Dolly Parton and many more. Details will be announced soon. 

Reviews for Altitude

“A masterclass album” MOJO ****
“Dig out the bunting for Altitude. It’s a terrific return” UNCUT 8/10
“A road-tested album perfectly put together” MAVERICK

Altitude tracklist:

1) Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 1)
2) Country Star
3) Sitting Alone
4) A Friend Of Mine
5) Space
6) Altitude
7) Vegas
8) The Sun Is Quietly Sleeping
9) Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 2)
10) Night Riding
11) Tomahawk
12) Time To Dance
13) The Angels Came Down
14) Lost Byrd Space Train (Epilogue)

About Marty Stuart: 

Marty Stuart is a five-time GRAMMY-winner, Country Music Hall of Famer, platinum recording artist, Lifetime Achievement Award recipient from the Americana Music Association, Grand Ole Opry star, country music archivist, photographer, musician, and songwriter. Since starting out singing gospel as a child, Stuart has spent over four decades celebrating American roots music. His teenage years on tour with bluegrass legend Lester Flatt in the ’70s were followed by six years in Johnny Cash’s band in the ’80s, and a chart-topping tenure as a solo artist in the ’90s. Recently, The Country Music Association announced the induction of Marty Stuart into the Country Music Hall of Fame’s class of 2020 in the Modern Era Artist category.  In addition, Stuart is raising awareness for The Marty Stuart Congress of Country Music (MSCCM) in Philadelphia, Mississippi which will celebrate the rich cultural heritage of country music through live musical performance and educational programming. More details here:

Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives are on tour now – current tour dates and tickets are available here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *